February 01, 2021

Washington University Orthopaedic Surgery faculty are award-winning trusted experts of the field and we’re proud to announce our 2020/2021 recipients of funding, awards and leadership appointments.


Despite the difficulties brought by COVID in 2020, our Washington University Department of Orthopaedic Surgery faculty pushed on to continue their important work of advancing the future of orthopedic care through basic and clinical research. 

Collectively, they received a total of $11.3 million in orthopedic research funding in 2020—an extraordinary accomplishment in the midst of challenging times. Congratulations to all of our research and clinical faculty awarded funds in 2020; a select few highlighted below: 

  • David Brogan, MD, MSc, received funding from the Dean’s Scholar Award for $50,000 per year for up to two years. The Dean’s Scholar’s Program is supported by an Institutional Training Grant Award from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund to enhance training of MD-only candidates performing basic science research, the program seeks to support outstanding individuals committed to a career as a physician-scientist.
  • Abby Cheng, MD, received a supplement to her K23 award in the amount of $54,000 ($50,000 directs) for her project titled “Predicting Patient-Reported outcomes in patients with pre-arthritic hip disorders”.
  • Christopher Dy, MD, MPH, received funding from the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) 2020/2021 Mentored Clinician Scientist Grants for $20,000 for one year to supplement his K23 award from NIH for the research project titled “Understanding Barriers to Delivery of Care for Brachial Plexus Injury”.
  • Roberta Faccio, PhD, received an R01 from NIH/NCI for $360,281 per year over five years for her project titled “Role of Bone in Primary and Metastatic Cancer”.
  • Matthew Goodwin, MD, PhD, received funding from Children’s Discovery Institute for $300,000 over 5 years for his research project titled “Novel targeting of osteosarcoma via lactate transport inhibition”.
  • Farshid Guilak, PhD, received funding from the NIBIB for $1,162,381 ($1,081,279 directs) over 5 years for his training grant title “Training in Regenerative Medicine”.
  • Michael Kelly, MD, MSc, received a third year of funding from Barnes-Jewish Hospital Foundation Rubin Spinal Research Fund for $156,200 to support his project titled “Intravenous Lidocaine to Reduce Postoperative Opioid Consumption and Improve Recovery after Spinal Fusion Surgery in Pediatric Patients with Spinal Deformity”. 
  • Audrey McAlinden, PhD, received funding for an R01 from NIAMS for $2,383,536 ($1,513,356 directs) over 5 years for her research project titled “MicroRNA Regulation of Bone Formation and Repair”.
  • Cecilia Pascual-Garrido, MD, PhD, received funding for a K08 award from NIH grant for $778,525 ($720,855 directs) over 5 years to support the research project titled “Mediators of the OA Cascade in the Pre-Arthritic Hip”.
  • Jie Shen, PhD, received funding from NIH for an R01 with Jianjun Guan (Engineering) for $2,826,450 ($1,794,571 directs) over 5 years for his project titled “Targeting angiogenesis for fracture nonunion treatment under inflammatory diseases”.
  • Simon Tang, PhD, and Lori Setton, PhD (Biomedical Engineering) received funding for an R01 from NIAMS for $3,177,776 ($2,017,635 directs) over 5 years for her research project titled “Intervertebral Disc Degeneration and Cross-Talk with the Nervous System”.
  • Matthew Silva, PhD, received an NIH S10 Equipment Grant for $407,000 for a "Cabinet MicroCT System for Musculoskeletal Specimen Imaging" for the Musculoskeletal Research Center.

Congratulations to the groundbreaking researchers of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery. We’re pleased to announce 2021 award recipients. 

  • Hua Shen, PhD, is the recipient of the Excellence in Basic, Clinical, and Translational Science from Journal of Orthopaedic Research for “Stem Cell-Derived Extracellular Vesicles Attenuate the Early Inflammatory Response after Tendon Injury and Repair,” published in Journal of Orthopaedic Research in Vol. 38 Issue 1.
  • Farshid Guilak, PhD, is the recipient of American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons’ (AAOS) Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award. He will be presented the award, the third Kappa Delta of his career, on February 12, 2021, at the AAOS annual meeting.  
  • Farshid Guilak, PhD, is also the recipient of the 2021 Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS)/Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Distinguished Investigator Award for his significant contributions to the field of orthopaedic research in osteoarthritis, mechanobiology, synthetic biology and tissue engineering.

Washington University Orthopaedic Surgery faculty are trusted experts of the field. That’s why so many are selected to serve as leaders in national societies and organizations. We’re proud of our physicians and researchers who represent Washington University Orthopedics on a regional and national stage:

Request an Appointment

caret-up caret-down