October 10, 2019

Regis J. O'Keefe, MD, PhDRegis J. O’Keefe, MD, PhD, the Fred C. Reynolds Professor and head of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, recently selected Charles Goldfarb, MD, as executive vice chair. Six other faculty members have also been appointed to serve as vice chairs, as the department aims to create a more structured governance model, emphasizing collaboration, engagement, and decision-making transparency among department faculty.

“The executive vice chair and other department vice chairs have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills and the highest level of professional expertise,” O’Keefe said. “Collectively, the leadership team has a key role in defining the strategies that enable our department to achieve at the highest level in clinical care, education, research activities, and leadership and to serve as a model for programs across the country.”

Those appointed to the new posts:

Charles Goldfarb, MDCharles Goldfarb, MD, is the Executive Vice Chair and a national leader in pediatric congenital hand deformity and adult complex upper extremity disease. His responsibilities include faculty engagement, clinical and education oversight of the department, and directing clinical operations. 

John Clohisy, MD

John Clohisy, MD, the Daniel C. and Betty Viehmann Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, is involved in oversight of key hospital services and program development at Barnes-Jewish West County Hospital.



Heidi Prather, DOHeidi Prather, DO, a professor of orthopaedic surgery and chief of the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Division, oversees non-operative musculoskeletal services.




Matthew Silva, PhDMatthew Silva, PhD, the Julia and Walter R. Peterson Orthopaedic Research Professor, serves as the vice chair for the department’s research enterprise.




Jacob Buchowski, MD

Jacob Buchowski, MD, MS, the Lawrence G. and Elizabeth A. Lenke Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedics, is the director of orthopaedic perioperative services, and in his new role as vice chair, he works with hospital leadership across all surgical sites to coordinate the provision of surgical care.

Anna Miller, MD, FACS

Anna Miller, MD, FACS, an associate professor of orthopedic surgery, is a newly-named vice chair and chief of the Orthopaedic Trauma Division. Miller directs the department interface with inpatient musculoskeletal services.



Jay Keener, MDJay Keener, MD, a professor of orthopaedic surgery and chief of the Shoulder and Elbow Division is another newly-named Vice Chair. He is the chair of the clinical affairs committee and is focused on the standardization of department practices and clinical operations. 




Read more news stories from Washington University Orthopedics


Make an Appointment

caret-up caret-down