April 18, 2022

Meet Stephanie Simpson 

Senior Grants Specialist 

Where are you from?

I am an "Air Force brat" born from a small, border town in southwest Texas. I have had the privilege of living in many places throughout the U.S. and Europe before settling in the St. Louis area during high school.

What brought you to Washington University Orthopedics?

I have been fortunate to have had some of the most fun jobs; in my early 20’s, I was a flight attendant! As I was looking towards the future, I was looking for a place where I could thrive and grow and the reputation of this fabulous institution brought me here. I have loved every minute of the almost-nine years I have worked in WashU Ortho. I worked as an assistant to Dr. Silva and as an office manager in basic research for over eight years before the transition to my current role. The faculty, staff and friends I made in that area made coming to work a joy!

What is your title and what do you do in your role?

My current job title is Senior Grants Specialist. I work closely with our faculty to assist them in submitting grants, along with pre- and post-award activities, to help further orthopedic research.

What aspect of your work do you find most interesting or rewarding? 

I am a fixer and caregiver by nature, so working behind the scenes to provide efficient and facile support is rewarding to me. My work goal is to make the lives of everyone I support easier.

What is your favorite thing to do outside of work? 

Outside of work, I love spending time with my family (my fiancé, Bobby, my 17 year old son, Cole, and my three adult bonus sons). We love exploring in our Jeep when it’s warm, traveling to warm, sunny places, near and far, and listening to live music. I also enjoy reading, cooking for my family and friends, playing golf, and visiting wineries and breweries. 

What's the best advice you ever received? 

One of the best pieces of advice I have ever received is, “Don’t stress over the little things that will not matter in 5 minutes, 5 days, 5 weeks or 5 months!" It’s safe to say I’m pretty laid back.


If you weren't in healthcare, what would you like to be doing?

I would be an event planner, party planner or wedding planner. I plan and execute a pretty great party!!

Anything else you’d like to share?

I am a cat mom to two sweet little felines, but not really a “cat person.” One of my favorite pastimes is football. I even belong to an all-female fantasy football league with my group of girlfriends.

Request an Appointment

caret-up caret-down