April 29, 2024

Meet Tara Aronberg

Physician Assistant 

Tara works with physicians on the reconstruction team and assists with patient care, specializing in the evaluation and nonoperative management of hip and knee disorders. 

Where are you from? 

I am from St. Louis, born and raised. I grew up in Fenton and now live in the Creve Coeur/Maryland Heights area. My whole immediate family still lives in St. Louis, which I really enjoy!

What made you choose orthopedics as a specialty? 

When I was in PA school, I enjoyed each specialty rotation more than the next.  My last rotation was Orthopedics! I had no experience in medicine, as my mom was a first grade teacher (retired) and my dad is a contractor. When I did my orthopedic rotation, I really enjoyed helping people recover from injury and improve their quality of life. I felt like I got to combine my love for talking with people and educating (like my mom’s profession) with fixing things (like my dad’s profession).

What brought you to Washington University Orthopedics?

Living in St. Louis my whole life, I always considered Washington University an institution of excellence. I’ve worked at other locations and when it came to the complicated cases, we referred those patients to Washington University providers. So when the opportunity to work for such a prestigious group was offered to me, with surgeons who are well known amongst patients and peers for the excellent care they provide and expertise they possess, I jumped at the chance to join this team!

What aspect of your work do you find most interesting and rewarding?

The most rewarding part of my work is probably what most orthopedic providers would say: getting patients back to doing what they love! I think the other piece that may not be as common of a response is getting to educate patients on their body, why they are feeling what they feel, and what their options are for treatment. I try to do my best to let patients know the options that are available to them so that they can make a more educated decision on how to proceed. I find it rewarding to work WITH the patient instead of just telling them what to do.

What is your favorite thing to do outside of work? 

My favorite thing to do outside of work is probably travel with my family. I also enjoy watching my kids play sports, and I even coach the two oldest in volleyball. My other favorite past time would be reading.

What is the best advice you have ever received? 

The best advice ever received was from my dad. From a young age, he told us to pick a career that we enjoyed and felt passionate about. He told us with the amount of hours you will spend over your lifetime at work, make sure it’s something that you enjoy doing.

If you weren't in healthcare, what would you like to be doing?

If I wasn’t in health care, I would probably be a teacher or an accountant. I had an accounting class in high school that I loved and really thought that was my career path all through high school.

Anything else you'd like to share?

Fun fact: I love Blues hockey! My husband and I are trying to see the Blues play in every arena.  So far we have been to 13! We’ve been doing this for about 12 years, taking a couple years off for COVID. Recently, we have taken the kids with us on these trips, including Washington Capitals and Colorado Avalanche games. 

Learn why patient's choose Washington University Orthopedicsrequest an appointment online or call (314) 514-3500.

Request an Appointment

caret-up caret-down