February 05, 2024

Meet Ta’myra (TJ) Austin 

Medical Assistant 

Where are you from? 

I’m from Chicago, IL. My family and I moved to the Belleville area in 2010 to be closer to other family members. I try to visit home every chance I get for the food, local activities, and the beach of course. I miss the diversity of cultures in one big city and the city night life. The bonus of living in the neighborhood I reside in was watching the sun set behind the downtown buildings from my high-rise.

What brought you to Washington University Orthopedics? 

I’ve worked with the department of orthopedic surgery, division of reconstructive surgery, in the past. Now, after I came across a Neuro-rehabilitation role, I started in that division for a new challenge in my role as a medical assistant.

How do you support the department? 

I enjoy caring for my patients who have suffered traumatic life changes or certain birth differences. Knowing my healing hands are blessings to those who need to be uplifted is the best reward I can receive. In this department I’m not just a medical assistant, my knowledge doesn’t stop there. I collaborate with my peers, providers, and management to be included in decisions and education that will help me maximize my role and be efficient for the future of this division. 

What's your favorite thing to do outside of work?

Outside of work I’m a football mom and the number one fan to my son, Apollo. This is his first time playing for the Little Knights of Belleville. When I’m not being a cheerleader for him, I’m snuggled up with my cat Pumpkin “Spice,” watching horror movies or investigation series. Apollo and I enjoy roller skating, coming up with new recipes, and nerf gun wars.

What's the best advice you've ever received? 

I live each day to the fullest and try to keep a smile on my face because life can change at any moment. “Always believe in your tomorrows.”

If you weren't in health care, what would you like to be doing?

If I wasn’t in the healthcare field, I would be a full-time beautician. I’m currently a part-time hair braider. I’ve been braiding hair since I was 13 years old, and I love making my clients happy by achieving their hair goals.  

Anything else you would like to share?

One of my biggest goals is to travel to all of the number one cities in all 50 states and create a state photo map of memories. While doing that I will tackle my biggest fear of flying. 

Learn why patient's choose Washington University Orthopedicsrequest an appointment online or call (314) 514-3500.

Request an Appointment

caret-up caret-down