June 30, 2017


AOA President – Regis O’Keefe, MD, PhD, FAOA 

Congratulations to newly elected members of the AOA - Anna Miller, MD, FACS, and Mike Kelly, MD, MSc

Dr. O’Keefe is the fifth AOA president from our department since 1893. Dr. Wright’s election to 1st Vice-President represents one of the few times the current President and future of the AOA were from the same institution. Dr. O'Keefe's Presidential Address was entitled, "Diversity:  Embracing Differences to Improve Success."

History of AOA and AAOS Presidents from Washington University Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

AOA President
 Allison AOA President
 Key AOA President
 Abbott AOA President
 Reynolds AAOS President
 McCarroll AAOS President
AAOS President    
 O'Keefe AOA President


Symposium Forum Moderators and Participants

Christopher Dy, MD, MPH  - Member of the AOA’s Emerging Leaders Program

·  Participated as a panelist in the Concurrent Surgery AOA Overtime session

·  Attended Emerging Leaders Forum

Richard Gelberman, MD  - Member of The American Orthopaedic Association

·  Moderated Symposium 4: Changing the Guard: Transition in Department Leadership


Charles Goldfarb, MD - Member of The American Orthopaedic Association

·  Panelist for Symposium 5: It is All About Value Now: What Data Do You Need to Collect and How To Do It

·  Presented a section for this symposium on Data Collection in the Office in a Cost Effective Way

·  Organized and moderated Department Leadership Forum - How to Build a Successful Departmental Research Portfolio.


Anna Miller, MD, FACS - elected as a Member of The American Orthopaedic Association

·   Presented on the panel at the AOA’s Own the Bone Own the Bone Charlotte Symposium: Fragility Fracture Care Coordination and Secondary Fracture Prevention, discussing Atypical Fractures

·   Presented on a short overview on the AOA’s Own the Bone program during the AOA’s Emerging Leaders Forum

·   Attended Emerging Leaders Forum


Poster Award (Voted Top 10)

Poster: Overlapping Surgery Among Orthopaedic Surgeons at a Single Academic Center.
Poster authors: Christopher J. Dy, MD, MPH; Regis J. O'Keefe, MD, PhD, FAOA; Daniel A. Osei, MD; Tony Shen; and Anna N. Miller, MD, FAOA

C. McCollister Evarts Resident Leadership Forum 
Washington University Residents nominated outstanding PGY4 residents Devon C. Nixon, MD and Robert D. Wohjan, MD to attend the AOA’s C. McCollister Evarts Resident Leadership Forum



Make an Appointment

caret-up caret-down